Inline news-detail-styling-professionals Back to Top
Top Nav Content Site Footer
University Home
Educating the Complete Lawyer

Congratulations to Moot Court Keenan Competition Champions

March 20, 2017
Last week, the Moot Court Board of Advocates held its annual Patrick A. Keenan Appellate Advocacy Competition. This year, twenty teams consisting of 2Ls and 3Ls argued Fourth Amendment issues before the Supreme Court. The questions presented were:
(1)   Whether the warrantless acquisition of cell site location information from a cell phone provider, revealing the location of respondent over the course of a number of months, constitutes a search under the Fourth Amendment?
(2)   Whether the evidence seized from respondent’s home is admissible under exceptions to the exclusionary rule?
On Saturday, March 11, following the preliminary rounds, best brief and best oralist awards were presented. Runner-up brief was awarded to Sara MacDonald and Nathaniel Mark, and best brief was awarded to Yafeez Fatabhoy and Kory SteenMatthew High was awarded second place oralist, and Verkeydia Crump won best oralist of the competition. 
On Wednesday, March 15, Drew Ruby and Verkeydia Crump and Kory Steen and Yafeez Fatabhoy competed in the final round of the competition. Ruby and Crump argued on behalf of the petitioner, and Steen and Fatabhoy for the respondent. Judges for the final round were Michigan Court of Appeals Judges Michael Riordan and Kirsten Frank Kelly, and Oakland County Circuit Judge Denise Langford Morris.
Please congratulate the 2017 Patrick A. Keenan Appellate Advocacy Competition Champions, Drew Ruby and Verkeydia Crump!
Detroit Mercy Law Moot Court Champions
(l-r) Kory Steen, Yafeez Fatabhoy, Hon. Denise Langford Morris (’82), Hon. Michael J. Riordan (’90), Hon. Kirsten Frank Kelly (’81), Verkeydia Crump, and Drew Ruby
Back to Top